Indeed

 

Even now, the day wide open in its noontime,

the sea as blue and restless as a buried past,

my night’s breathing and sighing for you

     overtakes me.

Rapt in a peculiar bliss, I have bridged

a catalogue of grieving, longer than the naming of ships.

 

Here, in the bellflower’s pendula, the swallowtail

unfurls it’s slender probe into the heart of the bloom

     and drinks.

And the bloom releases the breath of it’s sweetness,

the essential food.       Indeed, I have become,

bliss and bloom and heart and food

    for thee. 

13 responses to “Indeed

  1. Dear Patricia ,

    Thank you for this wonderful poem . You have actually bridged a catalogue of grieving with this poem .

    Swallowtail is flying before me .

    Akash

  2. Never more present than in the absence where we still sigh Yes.

  3. yes. the way in which somehow Love drinks us up, drawing in the nurture that our being in this place provides. sometimes i imagine the divine is suckling at my breast…..

  4. I am sitting here, having read this poem over and over a few times, and this line continues to take my breath away, every time:

    I have bridged

    a catalogue of grieving, longer than the naming of ships.

    Such an evocative line. May you have bliss and bloom and heart and food, always.

  5. My Beloved Mama Patricia,
    My humble Salaam to you and a big bear hug :)
    You leave me speechless everytime i read your lovely poems :)
    And i believe you are The Bloom which releases the breath of your sweetness..My Essential Food!!! (for the soul)
    May you have unceasing Bliss and may you continue to light up our souls:))
    My love and prayers for you always :)

  6. =) I keep coming back to this poem of yours, and loving it ever more.

    Today’s favorite line:
    Even now, the day wide open in its noontime

    I’m sitting in a beautiful, light-filled library, stressed out about meeting this evening’s deadlines. And yet all I can manage to do is constantly look out the window next to my table here. The sky is brilliantly blue outside, and the color is jumping inside the building and being reflected on the library’s white ceilings. It’s amazing.

  7. The quiet glory in these words…

    pulls me back into oneness…

    into blooming,

    Thank you for filling our cups with the dawn,

    Love and peace, Maithri

  8. Many thanks, dear friends, for your kind comments, and to Yasmine for connecting with the poem with a photograph, http://www.flickr.com/photos/yaznotjaz/2301116995/

    I am very grateful for readers!

  9. this is wonderful, so many lovely lines, specially the second line

  10. Beautiful choice of words and language. My favourite line: “a catalogue of grieving, longer than the naming of ships.”, as mentioned by others above. Great job with this.

  11. Very beautiful poem.

    “my night’s breathing and sighing for you overtakes me.” is so intimate and moving.

  12. Dear Patricia ,

    My patience is wearing out .
    Isn’t it time you graced us with your words ?

    Akash

  13. Salaams Patricia,

    Beautiful. The food you are serving is of the very best kind, a veritable restaurant for the soul

    Abdur Rahman

Leave a Reply

