Working It Out

I have been alone for days
dusk and dawn breathing in the distance
while the silence envelops
like an approaching front.

But don’t get me wrong, the weather is fine
even as the coyotes call from the ridge line
and veils of moisture drift in to the trees.

These days, it is I who am the sentinel
turning the light toward the movement
in the underbrush, dispersing the dark.

.
pbsweeney. 9/27/2008

8 responses to “Working It Out

  1. Good! I return to WordPress and find a fresh new poem by Patricia the next day! :)

  2. What a beautiful little poem. I love your style of writing, there is a sweet delicacy about it.

  3. Salaams Patricia

    Allah! That was beautiful and evocative.

    May you spread light always.

    Abdur Rahman

  4. Patricia,

    Your poems are as lovely as I remember you on a windswept night on a field in Long Island.
    I hope you see this comment and reply to an old friend.

    Fernando

  5. Your words are electric,

    Thank you dear poet for being and

    seeing with the clarity you do,

    With love to you and yours, M

  6. Quiet as a sweep o’ the palm and, like any gesture worth the effort, the palm’s not empty; there’s something there. Fine, fine work.

    Cheers.

  7. Missing your beautiful poetry ;) my friend

  8. You are doing a great job I liked reading you blog and I loved keep on the good work on I don’t know if I have said it already or not but great work tack care thank you

Leave a Reply

