Regardless, I See You

Regardless, I See You

Walking by, it was unlikely
that anyone would notice her new
copper hair cropped to her ears,
or the way her skirt unraveled
at the hem as if it were meant to
or how pale she was looking
or the disinterest in her gait
or the length of her cigarette ash
waiting for a flick.
No, she was safe – working in a salon
gave her the largesse to change her
appearance constantly. No one would
suspect the odd cycle of mutilation
or how fondly she thought of that cool tub in Munich,
full of water, swirling pink to red.

.

PBSweeney August 2006

4 responses to “Regardless, I See You

  1. A very powerful poem in its sad poignancy. I will think of “swirling pink to red” for a long time.

  2. Austin of Sundrip Journals

    Goodness. Powerful in deed.
    Aussie

  3. Austin of Sundrip Journals

    The way you describe this is exactly the way it is for many. the piercings, the shocking pink hair, the hacked off hair, the chains, it’s all self mutilating. But what grabs me the most is the way you describe her as having disinterest in her gait. You know what? I could see that girl walking with a hopeless kind of stride. You described that perfectly. When a person does something like mutilated fashions they are passed off as freaks, not people who hurt inside and want to let it out via blades in a bath tub. Many, if they stopped for a second in their busy lives they would see many men and women who long to end their personal suffering. But many times the world moves so fast that they often forget that in addition to the regular “stop and smell the flowers” they should “stop and love their brother.” With the quick turning of day into night and regular suffering many get left behind who once would have stood out like a sore thumb.

    Thank you for a poem that recognizes them/us. I wrote something this morning very similar to what your subject might have felt..the whole disinterest thing is what I wrote about. Man that word fits so well. The only thing is, I won’t ever again try to swirl pink to red.

    Austin of Sundrip Journals

  4. Austin,

    I’m so lucky to have someone like you reading what I’m doing, and trying my best to convey. You get it bang on all the time! The disinterest I see in her does pierce me – I think of her and pray. She is someone in my little village that I have known since she was a child, and she is a bright, loving, beautiful girl. Sometimes she is completely closed and doesn’t even see you, other times we can have good conversations. You are right about stopping to love our brothers and sisters; we don’t think of the sparrows often enough. 🙂

    Salaam to you and to Irving for taking the time to read and comment.

Leave a Reply

